how many candyman movies are there

It’s no secret that Hollywood loves a good candyman movie. And if you’re unfamiliar with the franchise, you’re in for a treat. Candyman is a horror film series about a serial killer who murders children by feeding them sweets made from his signature flavor, caramel. The series has been around for over 30 years and there have been six movies released so far. So, how many candyman movies are there? In short, there are six. And if you want to see which one is your favorite, we recommend giving it a watch!

The Plot of Candyman

There are three different versions of the plot of Candyman. The original film is set in 1922 and follows a young girl who is terrorized by a man in a mask who feeds her candy until she dies. A sequel, directed by Bernard Rose and released in 1992, takes place twenty years later and follows a young woman who believes she has finally rid herself of Candyman by burning his body. However, he returns to life and pursues her throughout the city. The last movie, released in 2000, is set thirty years after the first and follows a group of teens who discover Candyman’s body buried under the school where they are attending summer school.

Candyman Locations

There are currently five films in the Candyman franchise. The first film was released in 1988, and the most recent film was released in 2017. The Candyman films follow a loose continuity, with some elements from one movie being used in later films.

Characters in the Candyman Movies

In the Candyman movies, there are five main characters: The Candyman, his daughter Natalie (portrayed by Kimberley Jones), her husband Seth (played by Tony Todd), their young son Danny (played by Brandon Lee), and Claire Redfield (portrayed by Sherri Hill). There are also supporting characters, such as Seth’s boss Mr. Finklestein (played by Robert Englund) and Natalie’s friend Paula (played by Danielle Harris).

The Making of Candyman

The film version of The Candyman was released in 1992 and followed a young boy, John (Jason Moore), who is terrorized by the titular character. Despite the numerous sequels and remakes that have followed over the years, the film is considered to be the original.

The Candyman originates from a short story by James Hadley Chase that was first published in 1939. Since its release, several adaptations of the story have been made, but only three features directly based on it: The Candyman (1992), Candyman II: Day of the Dead (1995), and Candyman III: Dark Dreams Don’t Die (2000).


There are a total of nine candyman movies, which makes for a pretty robust film franchise. While some fans may be disappointed that there are not 10 candyman movies, others appreciate the fact that each movie is standalone and doesn’t rely on references from the previous movies to make sense. We hope this article has helped you understand what candyman movies are all about and why they are so popular. If you still don’t know where to start watching one, we recommend starting with the first movie, Candyman.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *